Reading the Classics

It occurred to me reading is a bit like being a Time Lord, minus the murderous Daleks. I can pop up at any time and place I choose. True, my Tardis is book shaped instead of a telephone booth, but I think you get the idea.

Unfortunately, I’ve been neglecting the past. So here is my classics list of 51 books which I plan to follow loosely for about the next 2 years.

Unlike the Doctor my companions number in the hundreds, and hopefully no one will get stuck in a parallel universe.

The Classics Club are an awesome group bloggers whose aim is to inspire people to read and blog about the classics.

I look forward to being lost in the past, armed with a fresh cup of coffee.

Classics List:

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf
The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
The Touchstone by Edith Wharton
Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
The Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
The Hills Were Joyful Together by Roger Mais
Brother Man by Roger Mais
Black Lightening by Roger Mais
A House for Mr. Biswas by V.S. Naipaul
Miguel Street by V.S. Naipaul
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad
Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
Tales From The Thousand and One Tales Translated by N.J. Dawood
Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe
Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
Manon Lescaut by Abbe Prevost
Jacques the Fatalist by Denis Diderot
Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
The Iliad by Homer
The Odyssey by Homer
The Aneid by Virgil
The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
Middlemarch by George Eliot
The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Notes from Underground by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
So Long a Letter by Miriam Ba
The Dragon Can’t Dance by Earl Lovelace
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
Beloved by Toni Morrison
Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe
The Jew of Malta by Christopher Marlowe
Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Frannie and Zoey by J.D. Salinger
The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
Room with a View by E.M. Forster
Tales of Old Japan by Algernon Bertram Freeman-Mitford

This entry was posted in Announcement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reading the Classics

  1. dste says:

    You drew me in with your title and your references to Doctor Who. You’ve got me: I’m a fan of both! I see a few classics on your list that I really enjoyed reading: Great Expectations, The Woman in White, Middlemarch… I hope you like them as much as I did!

  2. Wonderful selection! Welcome to the club.

  3. johnfield1 says:

    What an interesting list – there are quite a few unfamiliar writers and titles here – to me anyway!

    How are you planning to read them? Do you intend to follow genres chronologically in order to help you to appreciate how they develop and change through time?

    It’s great to see Homer, Virgil and Marlowe on here. On question: are you planning on reading any more poetry and drama too? TS Eliot’s ‘The Waste Land’ would dovetail nicely with Mrs Dalloway, and the poetry of Christina Rossetti, or Emily Brontë, would lend ‘Wuthering Heights’ a certain something too!

    Enjoy the list and do let us all know how you get on.

    All best,

    John

    • Honestly, I didn’t have as systematic reading plan. The list is not even final one, but thanks for the suggestions! I tend to find poetry a bit intimidating, but I am doing a course called Modern American Poetry and plan to do other courses to fix that. If you have any other suggestions let me know.

Leave a Reply

