Wrap/Announcement

La Brava by Elmore Leonard

La Brava by Elmore Leonard

Hello September! The summer is gone, and the school semester is already starting to pick up. I can see a timetable in my future, which is the only way I will be able to keep up with blogging.

August was an interesting month. Apart from the usual, I participated in my first Readathon, hosted by Rachel at a home between pages, and I joined the Classics Club. This month I’ll be participating in Atlantic’s 1book140. The book is La Brava by Elmore Leonard, who recently passed away.

New Writers

I read  Virginia Woolf and Justin Torres for the first time last month; To the Lighthouse by Woolf and We the Animals by Torres.

.                                          To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf  We the Animals by Justin Torres

We the Animals is a coming of age story of three crazy brothers set in New York. The quick paced episodic narrative treads on the fine line between prose and poetry. 

To The Lighthouse is told in Woolf’s infamous narrative style that flits from thought to thought and character to character. Woolf explores the subtle but complex psychological relationships of the Ramsay family and their guests.

Disappointment

I felt like I waited for ages for the third instalment of Barcelona series by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Prisoner of Heaven. This period drama reintroduces the characters from The Shadow of the Wind (which I loved) and The Angel’s Game (which was decent). When I got to the last page I remember thinking to myself, “Is that it?”.

Currently Reading

Right now I’ve kicked it back to the 17th century with Miguel de Cervantes. I’m following the meanderings of the self-styled ‘knight errant’, Don Quixote, with his faithful steed, Rocinante, and his squire, Sancho Panza.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday and don’t forget it’s only two more days until MaddAddam is released!

And if anyone knows of any upcoming Readalongs or Readathons please let me know!

Image Credits: Goodreads, Goodreads, Goodreads

This entry was posted in Announcement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wrap/Announcement

  1. Welcome to the Classics Club! I’ve found it’s a good way to add a little focus to my reading. Not too much, though 😉

    We have a few books in common on our lists (here’s mine), and I’d be game for an informal readalong if something more organized isn’t in the works.

  2. WORDMAN says:

    Virginia Woolf and Carlos Ruiz Zafon are two of my favorite writers. I have others but these two shine. I’m new to your blog, and have been catching-up with all your posts – slowly but surely. There are some interesting books ‘in here’. I’ll be up to speed in no time!

Leave a Reply

