Classics Spin Club #6

20140506-125346.jpgI have just barely scratched the surface of my original list and it isn’t even that long in comparison to some of the others I’ve seen.

In any case here are my 20;

1. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
2. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
3. Ulysses by James Joyce
4. The Iliad by Homer
5. The Odyssey by Homer
6. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
7. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
8. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
9. Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
10. A Farewell To Arms by Ernest Hemingway
11. The Emigrants by George Lamming
12. In a Free State by V.S. Naipaul
13. A House for Mr. Biswas by V.S. Naipaul
14. Moses Ascending by Sam Selvon
15. Moses Migrating by Sam Selvon
16. North of South by Shiva Naipaul
17. The Hills Were Joyful Together by Roger Mais
18. Brother Man by Roger Mais
19. Black Lightning by Roger Mais
20. Good Morning, Midnight by Jean Rhys

Kwame

This entry was posted in Announcement, Classics Club. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Classics Spin Club #6

  1. Brona says:

    Wow – you have a few chunksters in there!
    Good luck.
    I hope to put my list up in the next couple of days šŸ™‚

  2. Christy says:

    I have A Farewell to Arms on my list as well. It’s the one I am most sure I will not like. I haven’t heard of some of the authors on your list like Sam Selvon, Shiva Naipaul, Roger Mais and George Lamming. I looked them up and see that I am quite ignorant of Caribbean literature. Good luck with your spin!

  3. Years ago I thought I was a Hemingway fan, but for some reason I couldn’t get through A Farewell to Arms. As for the Caribbean authors, I live in the Caribean and I’m pretty ignorant about a few of them as well, but I’m working on that. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Ai-yai-yai! You have some biggies on your list. Two of my favourites though: The Iliad and The Odyssey. In fact, I just finished The Odyssey last month for a read-along. I absolutely dread Ulysses so I’m happy it didn’t show up on my list. I haven’t heard of Roger Mais or Sam Selvon so I’m going to have to look them up.

    Good luck with your spin!

Leave a Reply

