Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own… Yet

image

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Even though my physical and digital book shelves are stacked with tons of books that I haven’t read yet, I can’t help always looking for new books to get lost in. Unfortunately, I can’t afford my own book lists, so I’m always left with some books that I want to read that are outside of the book budget.

So here are my top 10 books that I haven’t bought yet, in no particular order.

image

1. The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew
I’d never heard about The Green Turtle until all the recent press about Yang and Liew resurrecting the first Asian-American superhero. I find the idea that a non-white superhero could have existed in the golden age of comic books—a time when any call for literary diversity would have been soaked in the most racist vitriol— to be quite incredible. Also, I recently read Yang’s American Born Chinese (2006) and it was awesome.

2. Cloudstreet by Tim Winton
This came as a recommendation from Whispering Gums for my personal challenge, Reading Australia. Winton is an award winning Australian novelist, who has been short listed for the Man Booker Prize twice. Cloudstreet (1991) is an epic story that follows the lives of two very different families living under the same roof.

3. Special Topics in Calamity Physics (2006) by Marisha Pessl
Earlier this year I read Night Film (2013), after seeing so many of my favourite book bloggers talking about how great it was. It haunted me for weeks after I read the last page. It was easily one the most entertaining novels I’ve read for the year, by an author I’d never heard of before. Special Topics in Calamity Physics (2006) is her debut novel, and I thought it’d be cool to read the novel that started her writing career.

4. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (2011) a couple of years ago and I loved it. The narrative, combined with some eerie photographs, follows the journey of a young boy trying find out the truth about his grandfather’s death. Hollow City (2014) is the sequel.

5. Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat
Both Breath, Eyes, Memory (1994) and the The Dew Breaker (2004) have had a major effect on me. Both stories deal with the complexity of Haiti’s political realities and the need for the immigrant to try to strip his/herself of the horror of his/her own personal history and start anew. This story seems to be little different, all of the events seem to take place in Haiti.

6. All Decent Animals by Oonya Kempadoo
Years ago I read Buxton Spice (1998) which was a glimpse into the socio-political realities of Guyana in the 1970s through the eyes of a child. I thought it was both beautiful and disturbing. Since then I promised myself I had to read some more works by Kempadoo.

image

7. See Now Then by Jamaica Kincaid
Christmas of 2008 I got At the Bottom of the River (1983), a collection of short stories that changed the way I thought about Caribbean literature prose in general. It was the first time I’d seen prose spill over into poetry. Since then I read a few other works by Kincaid. Long story short, she is awesome, and anything she writes is worth reading.

8. The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
I’ve seen a lot of talk about this book all over the internet. Some of my favourite book bloggers have raved about how awesome it is. I’ve had a copy of Cloud Atlas (2004) in my digital library for a little while now but for some reason I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

9. Hardears by Nigel Lynch and Matthew Clarke
I picked up my first Caribbean graphic novel when I went to the Bim Literary Festival and Book Fair earlier this year. It was the first volume of Heartman by Matthew Clarke—a horror story that definitely left me feeling a little strange. I saw some photos on Facebook for the release of Hardears (2014) and it looked pretty cool.

10. Annihilation by Jeff Vendermeer
There’s been a lot buzz about this book, there’s also also been a lot buzz about how unprecedented it is for an entire trilogy to come out in the same year. Annihilation (2014) is the first book in the trilogy. Why do I want to read this book? Because I could do with some decent science fiction!

There you have it—a tiny fraction of my constantly evolving list of books.

Kwame

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own… Yet

  1. Ooh, I’m intrigued by The Shadow Hero. Saladin Ahmed has actually done some awesome work on rediscovering characters of colour and women in Golden Age comics, you might wanna hunt up the posts he’s done about it.

  2. WORDMAN says:

    Today, I have you on ‘speed dial’ so to speak – as I’ve been vasilating between you and Amazon. My Wish List has now gotten longer with The Bone Clocks, which led me to Number9Dream; Hollow City because I read Miss Peregine’s Home for Peculiar Children – and became mesmerized by it; Special Topics in Calamity Physics, which led me to Night Film because you said “It haunted me for weeks after I read the last page.”, and I like books that can do that to a person; and, whilst The Shadow Hero (Graphic) is not exactly my cup of tea – as thebrightspark says, ‘intrigued’. So, I may just give it a go (how ‘good’ could it be?), down the line, I’ll let you know. Thank you.

    • Well I’m glad that my post was so helpful! I know I love it when I can find bloggers who share similar tastes–who can open my eyes to new books that I’ve either never heard of before or books I’ve only heard of in passing and may have been in two minds about reading.
      Do let me know your thoughts when you get a chance to read some those books. Happy Reading!.

  3. BookerTalk says:

    I’ve never heard of Kempadoo but this could be an option for my world literature reading. Do yiu have any recommendations where to start with him or is it her?

    • Well my first and only book I’ve read by Kempadoo to date was Buxton Spice, which I did for school and really enjoyed. I definitely recommend that to begin with.

      Kempadoo also wrote another book called Tide Running, I haven’t read it yet, but some people whose reading tastes I trust said that it is definitely worth reading.

      Hope that was helpful!

Leave a Reply

